Be brave and try

– or “Why you should try out Yoga at least twice* in your life.”

I am supposed to be at Yoga right now, but my whole body is sore from yesterday’s class, so I’m taking a break today. I am feeling sore everywhere, so I am resting today, hoping to recover soon because tomorrow is one of my favourite Yoga classes. So instead of doing Yoga, I’m writing about it.

Each time I am at a Yoga class I do something new. I do something that I have never done before in my life and often enough it is something I didn’t know my body was capable of doing. I’m constantly being pushed out of my comfort zone during Yoga classes, something which was really hard for me at the beginning.
I was always bad at sports as a kid and really fat, I couldn’t even do a headstand, let alone anything else. So for the first time in my life, I am doing stuff like handstands and headstands and I’m loving it. I still suck at it, but everytime I get over myself and try something new and then when I get better at this it just feels incredible! Which is why I want to share this with you.

Right when I started taking Yoga classes, when I saw a new pose, my first thought was always: “No way is my body ever going to do that pose. It’s impossible. I’m not a pretzel.”
The panic must have been written all over my face, because the advice I got there, which is an advice I would like to give to you is:

“Just relax, take a breath and try.”

In the beginning, if something seems impossible, just try it. The outcome doesn’t matter, what matters is that you get over yourself and that you try. The most disappointing and frustrating experience during my Yoga class was when the Yoga teacher was teaching a pose and I didn’t do it not because I physically couldn’t but because my mind told me that I couldn’t. I gave up before I even tried because of this little voice in my head telling me that I couldn’t do this.

So try something you’re a little bit uncomfortable with. Don’t put yourself into any danger, try something that is a little bit out of your comfort zone. Just relax, take a breath and try. If the outcome is great you can feel great about yourself, if the outcome is not so great you can feel even greater because you addressed your little fear and got over yourself which should make you very very proud!

*everything should be given a second chance.

Be brave and try

Leave a Reply

