Minimalist shoe shopping

Yesterday, when I was checking my wardrobe to see if there is more room for improvement (and let me tell you, there is – lots of!), I discovered to my dismay that the shoes I usually wear are a bit torn at the seams and are likely to fall apart over the course of the next weeks.

Now, I am not the usual shoe-shopping-addicted female as I am slightly taller than average and thus have slightly larger feet than the average woman. I am a size 8 1/2 and so shoe shopping is something I am dreading rather than enjoying. Fortunately for me, the shoe industry has changed over the last ten years, so finding a pair of nice feminine shoes in my size is not such a huge problem as it was before when I could only wear men’s sneakers. My dislike for shopping shoes nevertheless is still there – I prefer shopping for bags instead 😀

Nevertheless, when I was rummaging through my wardrobe I found out that I own more shoes than I thought. After throwing away two pairs of sandals (they hurt my feet so I don’t wear them anyway) and putting away two pairs of whimsical sneakers in a bag for a friend who collects whimsical shoes, this is what’s left:

  • 1 pair of sandals
  • 1 pair of flip flops
  • 1 pair of black boots
  • 1 pair of winter/hiking boots
  • 2 pairs of elegant shoes for work – one elevated, one flat
  • 1 pair of shoes I wear everyday <- those are the broken ones
  • 2 pairs of trainers – one for indoor sports, one for outdoor sports

I have to admit, that’s a lot of shoes for somebody who dislikes buying them… But I guess that’s okay for now, because I seem to have exactly one pair of shoes left for every situation I encounter often and also I am wearing the shoes I have regularly, I am keeping those for now until they wear out. So far so good. But what do I do about the pair of shoes for “everyday”-kind of situations? I think keeping new purchases at the absolute minimum is the way I should solve the situation now. Instead of getting two or three pairs of shoes to replace the one that is broken, I get one pair of new shoes to replace the one old pair.

So I am looking for one pair of shoes that meets as many of my condition as possible.Those conditions are:

  • they have to be the right size
  • they have to be comfy
  • they have to be a very good quality
  • they have to be tough as I will wear them practically everyday
  • they have to be casual but not too casual
  • they have to be versatile clothes-wise: if I can only combine them with half of my wardrobe then I won’t buy them
  • they have to be versatile situation-wise: if they are not appropriate in half of the situations they’re no good for me. In the country I live in, I often see women wearing trainers everywhere in any situation which I personally dislike very strongly. Even though I often dress sloppy when I’m hanging out at home, it’s important for me to be able to be dressed appropriately
  • they have to be easy to clean and also in a color where you can’t immediately see if they are dirty
  • they have to be flat. I can’t wear highheels or pumps longer than 3 hours.

If you have any suggestions, you are more than welcome to leave a comment.

Minimalist shoe shopping

3 thoughts on “Minimalist shoe shopping

  1. Angela says:

    Hi Jessica! This is most likely the slowest reaction ever, but I couldn’t resist to advice to you try a pair of Paul Green high top sneakers 🙂 just google them and pick your fav look! I consider myself to be rather minimalist and the Paul Greens go with almost everything and I could check all the points on your list;)
    Love Angela

Leave a Reply

