Cosmetics – how to get rid of them with style

Today, I decluttered some of my cosmetics. As I might have mentioned before, I am a little *cough* bit addicted to all things cosmetic. Skin care products, shampoo, conditioner, eyeshadow, lipsticks, nail polish, you name it – I got it. So how does this work with the minimalist lifestyle I am aspiring? Yep, it doesn’t.So today I got rid of 6 nailpolishes, an eyeliner, eyeshadow, 2 lipsticks and 2 skin care products. I really, really can’t bring myself to throw away the rest of the stuff I own. Also I am amazed how much there is left, I knew I had much stuff, but I didn’t think I had this much.

So, instead of buying new stuff, I decided that I will use it all up! This might take some time but on the long run this is the only option for getting rid of it that I could imagine. I started with moving all the stuff I am going to use now from the bedroom where I stored it to the bathroom where I’m going to use it.

I really have to put myself on a leash for this challenge, because I love shopping for this stuff! It makes me feel relaxed for some reason, I love the stores and the shopping experience – the atmosphere, the smell, you know (ok, guys might not know – but girls will definitely understand).

But, do I really need the 5th bottle of bodylotion, just because this one smells like honey and I don’t have one that smells like honey yet? No, of course I don’t! I already have 4 at home that smell just nice. So I’m gonna use them all up before I buy anything new.

Today I started with 1 bottle of shampoo, which might be cheating because it was already nearly empty, but in my head this counts and it makes a great beginning 😀 Now I have three different bottles left, lets see how long this takes. Apart from an emptier cosmetic-drawer I hope that I will save some money too, because not buying new stuff is always good for your piggy-bank.

Cosmetics – how to get rid of them with style

One thought on “Cosmetics – how to get rid of them with style

  1. Hi there!
    I also love to buy beauty produtcs and am trying to use the stuff I have. Nowdays I have like 5 different cleansers!!!
    How are you doing? Are using your stuff? Did you stop shopping?
    Good luck!!!!

Leave a Reply

