My minimalist wardrobe shopping part 1

Today I went shopping to get a few new clothes. All those clothes I bought will become part of my personal 33 challenge starting in April, so I bought them with care and only after I was really convinced that they would suit me and my new style. If you want to know why I’ll be doing this particular challenge in April, I’ll explain it in more detail in one of the following blogposts. If you wish to follow my blog so you don’t miss it, please do πŸ™‚

When I decluttered my wardrobe a few weeks ago I found that there were some clothes that I wear regularly and some that I don’t wear at all. Unfortunately some of the clothes I wear regularly were in such a bad shape that I had to throw them away: They had stains, were torn or were washed-out badly. This was no big deal for me because most of these clothes had served me 5 years+. The reason is that I very seldom went shopping during my time at university and some time after that, because the lack of first money (university) and then time (job).

Right now I am in the very fortunate position to evaluate which of the clothes I wore often suit my image and my style and look good on me, and which just don’t. I decided that I should get a more ‘grown-up’-style with less hilarious and colorful T-shirts and more elegant and well fitting tops. I am trying to be more sensible with my new purchases and keep to one style instead of shopping mindlessly. I will replace only my very favourite items beginning today with a black wool-cardigan, a pink wool-cardigan and 3 tops for the summer season. I really *heart* wool-cardigans. When I’m looking outside through the large windows of my appartment I can see the snow falling for the 3rd time today, and it is those wool cardigans that keep me warm when the thermostate isn’t working the way it should.

My aim is to have the following maximum:

  • 2 jeans
  • 2 skirts
  • 2 dresses (those will be stored away until summer)
  • 5 T-shirts (the majority will be stored away until summer)
  • 5 pullovers/long sleeved shirts
  • 5 blouses for work
  • 2 trousers for work
  • 1 blazer, 1 vest
  • 2 cardigans
  • 2 scarves
  • 10 pair of shoes, as explained in a previous post
  • the necessary amount of undergarments has yet to be figured out

If you don’t count the shoes and the sports equipment, those are 29 items (if I counted right), which should be sufficient, even when I decide to add 4 more items. As I understand, in the challenge accessories should be counted in, but I don’t have any. I recently put all of my bags on ebay (I kept two backpacks) and I don’t even wear a watch (only a pair of small earrings), so this is the easy-peasy part for me πŸ™‚

What are your favourite clothes in your wardrobe? Do you keep more jewellery than I do and do you have favourite peaces among them?

My minimalist wardrobe shopping part 1

Leave a Reply

