Let’s go

This is the summary of the last few days of preparation for my journey to Japan. There is some minimalistic stuff, but also some travel stuff, so please bear with me.

Thursday

Even though I wanted to go to Yoga classes, I didn’t make it. Too much to do and not enough time. What do I want to take with me? What is really necessary when you’re away for one year and have to dress for a potential job? This is the hardest part for me. Usually I dress very sloppy, no make up and don’t give a damn about how I look. Now, in Japan the work environment is very formal. My old job didn’t have any dress code. Really, it wouldn’t have mattered if I sat there in my underwear. So usually, I came to work wearing Jeans and a pullover or T-shirt depending on the weather complete with my trustworthy old backpack and my sneakers.

Now, this formal business dress code requires a fully new wardrobe for me: Black dress shoes, a black bag, a trench coat, blouses in black and white etc. I totally have the feeling like I packed too much stuff, but since I am so inexperienced about wearing all these formal clothes I feel like I have to bring them all to be prepared for any formal situation. This is really the crucial point that keeps me from packing minimalist. I am thrown into a new country and in addition into a new work environment. This total newness of the situation makes me feel incredibly uncomfortable and so I try to compensate this with stuff. It’s the same problem all over again and I feel as if I hadn’t learned a thing in the past months *sigh*.

So, I guess I have to put myself out there more and put myself in more of these situations that make me uncomfortable so that I can learn how to deal better with them. Maybe in a few years I’ll be able to be a minimalist even though the situation is new for me. I assume it gets better over time, that I will get used to this โ€œjumping into cold waterโ€ thing if I do it more often.

Friday

Tomorrow I have to leave my old apartment, the clock is ticking ๐Ÿ™‚ IMG_0087Today I put all the stuff I don’t need for the next year into storage (3 boxes like the one on the right side+one suitcase)ย  and I am left only with my luggage for Monday and my hand-baggage. In addition to all the stuff I sorted out, sold, gave away, threw away over the last few months I am throwing away two more garbage bags full of more stuff.

On my way back from the storage room (which is the basement of my friend’s house. Thank you so much for letting me keep my stuff there!) I find a few more items that I should have put into storage. Oh well, I will find a last minute solution for them or park them at another friend’s house since it is smaller, easy to overlook stuff.

Suddenly, for the first time, I am feeling really light. For the first time, this feeling all the minimalism bloggers talk about when you give away stuff, it happens. I feel light and happy and I think that when I come back to my stuff in a year or two, I will probably throw some more of it.

Saturday

Let’s move ๐Ÿ˜€

My luggage and all the food that I couldn’t eat in the last days and that is left-over is IMG_0006carried over to a friend’s place, where I will also stay for the next two days until my flight leaves. Why do I have so much food? And so much tea?ย  I feel like this is something I will have to work on when I come back. I don’t know why I gathered this much food or why I never used it and kept it like this, but I will find out and I will break this bad habit.

Today, I finally have time to go to Yoga classes. Tomorrow will be packed too with last-minute activities, so this will be the last time for some time. I am pretty sad, because I really love my Yoga studio. The classes have a great variety, it is conveniently located, it’s on the cheaper end of Yoga classes, they do a lot of workshops, and above all the teachers are great! I have a background in sports, I’ve been a teacher myself so I have rough understanding about how the human body works and how to move it effectively and how to train to get good results, but they know a lot more than I know. Also they are all very nice ๐Ÿ™‚ I have learned a lot from them and there is still so much room for improvement. I would be incredibly happy if I could go there again if I come back to my home town after my trip.

For now, I have to figure out the best way to practice alone. I guess I will have to make a plan for this or else I will only practice the stuff I am good at or forget to practice at all…

Sunday

The day of rest. I eat. A lot. Good German bread ๐Ÿ™‚ I will miss you, my bread!

The last time to re-pack my luggage and weigh it: 18 kilos. The limit is 23, so I am pretty safe, even if this scale is broken I will still have some room. (Afterthought: the scale was wrong by the way. My total luggage weight was 20 kilos)

I eat some more, relax at my friend’s house, sleep, read and repeat.

I guess I could prepare for my next interview, but I am too lazy. I will probably regret this later, but the last days have been very stressful and I need rest.

Monday

I wake early, much too early for my liking and we drive to the airport. See you in Tokyo!

Writing all this, I realize that I can be very happy to have so many great friends. Thank you all so much for helping me! I couldn’t have done this without you!

Tuesday

The flight was terrible. The seats have gotten smaller since the last time I flew, or I have gotten fatter, anyway, I have never flown this long and this uncomfortably.

But when I arrive and get through immigration, the friendly face of a friend’s mother greets me ๐Ÿ™‚ I get taken to the city centre and we eat some pancakes. Then I am taken to their home where I am welcomed with a hot shower!

Since I can’t stay there longer than two days, I find a place to stay the next two days. Since I am booking for the day after tomorrow there is nothing available anymore so I get a double room just for myself ๐Ÿ™‚ With tatami mats on the floor. This will be for the next two days, then I’ll finally have decided where my future will take me.

Let’s go

One thought on “Let’s go

Leave a Reply

