This is a blog about minimalism. Therefore I shall write about minimalism.

Yep, taking this to heart this time, I will actually write something that might be useful to you.

Useful information number 1: When packing a suitcase, do it like this: Pack it like you would usually do it and then take half of your crap and put it back.

I have been traveling for exactly one week now and I am doing my first laundry now, consisting of undergarments, 2 shirts, 1 pair of Jeans,1 Pullover and 1 pair of socks. Take this times 2 and you have all the stuff you ever need., period.

Useful information number 2: To enhance this, imagine yourself dragging your big suitcase up three flights of stairs, while holding an umbrella in one hand, your handbag in the other and a backpack on your back. Not a very nice image, right? This is what happened to me today and I didn’t like it one bit. Considering that I only wore those few items stated above, about 15-20 kilos of the stuff that I dragged up and down the stairs today was crap I didn’t even touch once.

 Useful information number 3: If you don’t go on vacation on an uninhabited island, you will get everything you need, anywhere in the world. I have seen stuff here that is really useful, better thought through, nicer looking and at a lesser price than the stuff I brough with me because I didn’t think I could live without it. Now I wish I hadn’t brought it, because I would get to buy this better and cooler stuff here, but I can’t since my old stuff still works fine and I made it a rule not to add more stuff to my stuff.

Useful information number 4: Even if you are on a budget, don’t worry. If you have been living frugally before, you can do this even in another country. I would even go so far as to say that you can apply your „common sense of frugality“ in every country. Of course you will make some mistakes at the beginning, but you will learn the ropes in a new country surprisingly fast. That is if you have been living frugally in your homecountry before.

Useful information number 5: If you don’t go to an uninhabited island or want to do some longer outdoor activities, you also won’t probably need stuff like a flashlight or a pocket knife or a sleeping bag. I have seen a lot of travellers (mostly German) who carry their huge sleeping bag on top of their even larger backpack. Not only does this look ridiculous, but it also makes it harder to move around. Please, if you are not intending on sleeping in a tent, please don’t bring your sleeping bag. You won’t need it. Even if you stay in a cheap hostel (like I did), they have sheets. Most hostels even have a „no sleepingbag“-policy because bedbugs love to travel in sleepingbags. If you insist on sleeping in your own sleepingbag, please get a sleepingbag-inlay. They are made of cotton or silk, are really small and light (they fit into your hand) and can be easily put into your ridiculously large backpack 😉

Useful information number 6: Bring some plastic flip-flops. Those are small, light and great to use in the shower and every indoor place you don’t want to wear your shoes to, but are also hesitant to go barefoot in.

If you have anything useful to add to this list, please leave a comment below.

This is a blog about minimalism. Therefore I shall write about minimalism.

2 thoughts on “This is a blog about minimalism. Therefore I shall write about minimalism.

  1. Nancy L says:

    I thought this post was really useful. I’ve traveled twice overseas in the last two years And each time thought I carried too much. I’m about to take my third trip, so this was a timely post!

Leave a Reply

