Becoming trilingual?

My 12 hour workdays are continuing.

It’s fun and I am learning a lot, but it’s also exhausting. The Japanese language eats my brain. I can literally feel the inside of my head with every new word I learn and every new expression. Japanese is so different from English or German. The way I have to think in order to use this language is practically backwards from what I normally do when I use English. The starting point and the way you develop something, starting with a sentence, forming an argument, having a whole conversation is just so different! Which is why I am struggling writing this short blogpost right now. IMG_0449

While we westeners have a clear starting point, and go to the finishing argument in a straight line, like an arrow, the Japanese kind of “circle” aroung the other person, getting closer to them gradually until common ground is met and they understand each other.

But I have to learn it. If I don’t I won’t be able to do my job, so I push myself every day. Usually after coming home around 9pm I watch a movie in Japanese so that the immersion is complete and forcing my subconscious further into this strange, strange language. I am not sure if this is the most efficient way, but so far it works for me.

So, here I am, 6 1/2 months after I left my safe and secure comfort zone, going two steps forward and one step back at a time, working in a language that I would have never imagined working in. Life is interesting.

Becoming trilingual?

One thought on “Becoming trilingual?

  1. Minimalismus-Warum says:

    Very interersting. Especially as a German; we like to go directly and straight to the point. Good Luck and keep us posted on your progress.

Leave a Reply

