“A Cup of Happiness”

When in Rome do as the Romans do – or so I think. So being in Japan I started sampling sake, or nihonshu, the drink made of rice which the Japanese are famous for.

Today, I am having “One Cup Ozeki” sake. At the register I found something curious on the back of the cup behind the blue label, it was their marketing slogan: “A Cup of Happiness” next to a sake cup with some red autumn leaves in it.

I have really mixed feelings about this.¬†Associating happiness with alcohol. Sure, I am having fun drinking all the different kinds of sake that are produced in Japan in the different regions, learning to differentiate the taste and what food goes with it and what doesn’t. By the way never ever drink sake and eat sushi at the same time! Big mistake. The sake is made of rice as well as the sushi – different rice – so neither will come out well and it’ll just taste bad. Anyways, while this is fun, I am not sure if I would call it “happiness”. I think – if I may use some stereotypes: the Japanese have a serious drinking issue. And this adds fuel to it. So I will be drinking this with a grain of salt (which by the way tastes surprisingly good) and try to think of ways this slogan could be interpreted positively.

So, what do you think of a slogan like that on the back of a cup of sake? Legitimate? Immoral? Genious marketing slogan? Would you buy it because of the slogan? Am I overthinking this?

“A Cup of Happiness”

Leave a Reply

