About the need to buy new things – yeah it happens to minimalists too!

I wanna have a new smartphone. Like, really really really wanna have a new smartphone.

I wanna have a shiny new smartphone with nice and fast internet to be able to listen to music in the train and to read a book and to surf the internet and to do all kinds of neat things, all in one device, like watching videos and even learning or working.

See, a smartphone is so minimalistic: It would replace my old mp3-player (8 years old as we speak) and my ebook reader (both from Sony now that I think about it) and also my camera and my current smartphone which is so old and so slow and has scratches on it and is chipped at one corner.

It is even a very reasonable wish: I am spending a lot of time commuting every day and the shiny new device would be replacing 4 other devices and would only have to carry around 1 item – soooo minimalistic!

Nevertheless everything that I own right now works still fine. Things aren’t broken, though sometimes they have their glitches and bugs where they don’t work, there is no real need to replace all those things…

But, I want a smartphone. Because it’s new. Because I didn’t get anything for Christmas this year. Because I work so hard. Because I deserve to have nice things.

So I do what every good minimalist does when he/she feels the want to buy things: Put it on a 30 day list. If I still want to have a new smartphone in 30 days I will buy it. If not, I won’t. The 30 days give me the emotional distance to confirm if I really need the the thing.

So, let’s wait and see.

About the need to buy new things – yeah it happens to minimalists too!

2 thoughts on “About the need to buy new things – yeah it happens to minimalists too!

Leave a Reply

