back from hiatus

I had to take some time off blogging because real life proceeded to try to kick my ass…

I think I have never started the new year this hectic and with this much stress at work. So, this is definitely a first and will hopefully not be repeated. I think half of it was even my fault, sometimes dealing with people takes more time than expected. But I learned a lot about how the Japanese work and how to make them do the things you want and how to stop them from doing stupid things (mostly).

J-14-13Then, (maybe because of all of this stress) I got a terrible cold. Fortunately, with the help of camomile tea, multi-vitamin, zinc tablets and some strange Japanese anti-cold-medicine, after one week everything is under control. I am still coughing and wheezing like I’m 90 years old, but this is only a matter of time now and there is no need for me to go to the doctor’s 🙂 I am so happy it’s not the flu, because apparently it is making its round in Japan now and I could have easily caught that as well. Or even something worse.

Yesterday I took a walk in the snow where I discovered that the Japanese like building snowmen as much as the Germans do: suddenly, left and right of nearly all the streets, tiny snowmen were greeting me, some more some less elaborately made.

J-14-19That’s me in the pictures by the way, wearing what every Japanese person wears when they have a cold, a facemask. You can buy them in pretty much any shape and color and scent you like and they make you look like a surgeon – or if you combine it with a black hat as I did, like a criminal…Hence the striped gloves. If you are wondering what the heck I am schlepping with me: I was forced to volunteered to carry the stuff of the cameraman who in return produced these wonderful pictures of me.

As you can see it snowed pretty heavily, in the end we had about 15 cm of snow.

Greetings from Japan 🙂

back from hiatus

Leave a Reply

