30 day challenges

Hi there, it’s been a while! The past weeks have been work-sleep-repeat and time flies when you are stuck in your routine. Before you notice it, a month has passed…

So what’s new in my life? Well, I actually used the momentum I got from my work routine to add some positive things in my life.

1) I started doing Yoga again, I’m 3 weeks into my practice of Bikram Yoga and I can already see some positive effects. It gives me some quality time away from work and I am much more flexible now. Nevertheless, this is just the beginning, I will switch to a different style/sports sooner or later as the teachers are very dogmatic and won’t let me adjust the postures to how I would like to do them.

2) I pre cook my meals for the week, vegetables plus eggs so I am eating at least 2 out of 3 carb-free meals a day. Due to the work-stress (oh, that’s a bad excuse!) I am eating sugar, but this will be part of my next 30 day challenge.

3) I am currently in my 30 day challenge of not drinking any alcohol. At work, there are a lot of social things going on and because I am still relatively new I have been to all of them, drinking white/red wine with the others and it has been really fun! Nevertheless, I noticed the effect it has on my body, the small hangovers, the ability to concentrate just a little less, nothing major of course, but still enough that I felt I have to stop for a while at least and let my body recover.

Also I tried something new, I played squash for the first time in my life. Very embarrassing experience as I missed the ball 8/10 times, but it was also kind of fun.

So, what’s up next?

a) I will do a 30 day challenge on sugar starting Moday (tomorrow). No soft drinks either.

b) I will do a 20 in 30 day challenge on Yoga for August, which means practice Yoga 20 times in 30 days, which should be totally do-able.

c) Keep up the no-alcohol challenge.

As I have done all of the above before, and as these are not new experiences, but rather going back on track, I feel like I need to add something to it, to bring me out of my comfort zone again. (Am I getting crazy here? I feel like I’m getting crazy here. I should be already out of my comfort zone, doing what I’m doing but apparently my comfort zone has expanded so I have to keep pushing.) All of the above are rather physical challenges, so I feel like I should add something in there that makes me smarter or something… So I will

d) dedicate my lunch break to learn something new. I have played around with MOOCs before, and I think watching videos/doing assignments is something that I can totally do during lunch every day. Until now I haven’t been very consistent with these self-paced courses, so this is ideal for a 30 day challenge to get going.

30 day challenges

Leave a Reply

