Limiting beliefs

Upside down.

My head was facing the space between my hands and the rest of my body was upside down. I had just kicked my legs up to the wall, coming into a forearm stand which would be the first step on my way to scorpion pose. I did it! My first forearm stand in two years and I did it!

Yoga in HakoneThen, in a split second, a memory of me doing this pose in the past came up: With the Yoga-teacher’s help I had jumped up into the pose  and hurt myself. No major injury, I was just a little sore after and thinking that I can’t do all of this upside-down stuff anyways, that I’m not strong enough to do this.

The second I remembered this, I felt my left shoulder give out underneath me and I dropped out of the pose.

I made myself drop out of a pose that was completely fine just by thinking that I wouldn’t be able to do it. I was fine, I was doing it and it worked, but I fell just because I thought I wouldn’t be able to handle it.

What kind of bullshit-psycho-fucked-up situation is that?!

Anyway, I got so mad at myself that I decided on the spot that I would do a handstand next, something that I haven’t been able to do at all yet, the biggest and scariest thing on my “I wish I could do this”-list. I’ve never done a successful handstand even once on my own. I’ve been doing all kinds of preparation exercises for it, always avoiding the real deal because I thought I couldn’t do it.

And I did it. Spot on, easy as pie, on the second try I did it. For 20 seconds straight. Unbelievable, right?

Jessica: 1; limiting beliefs: 0

… or maybe not?

As ridiculous as this little incident at the gym today was, it made me think:

  • What other things are there that I fail at, where it is just my own belief that causes the failure.
  • What are the things that I stop myself from doing, things I don’t even start because I think I will fail?
  • What are the things I could achieve if I somehow managed to get rid of this thing that tells me that I will fail?
  • How successful could I be if I didn’t have limiting beliefs, what would my life look like? What would I be able to do, what are my actual limits?

Did you ever encounter limiting beliefs? What did you stop yourself from doing and how did you handle the situation? What would you do if you knew you wouldn’t fail?

Limiting beliefs

One thought on “Limiting beliefs

Leave a Reply

