The minimalist TAG

Recently the number of minimalists on youtube has grown exponentially. A couple of years ago there was barely anything about minimalism but now, more and more people vlog about their journey towards a minimalist lifestyle. As I am a blogger and not a vlogger, I take the liberty to take the TAG from youtube to my blog and answer the questions here, because I think the last time I talked about this might be a while ago.

Here are the questions and my answers are below the cut. Feel free to take them and answer them on your own blog if you want to

1. What drew you to minimalism?
2. How did you start the de-cluttering process?
3. Have you ever counted all your things? If so, how many things do you own?
4. What are your tips for dealing with the desire for more?
5. How do you deal with non-minimalists in your life?
6. Do you have any guilty pleasures where minimalism doesn’t apply?

1. I came to minimalism through zenhabits and then the minimalists. The clarity and the freedom that you can have with less physical things is what drew me to it. Also there was a money-saving aspect that I enjoyed. Having less things makes my life easier: I can live in tiny apartments that are in town, I don’t have to keep up with the Joneses, I don’t have to clean as much, I know what to wear at all times, I can pack my stuff in 2 hours and be gone to wherever I want to go. Even though I don’t have a high profile corporate job, minimalism enabled me to save money to travel for the next year or so without having to worry about anything other than which awesome place to choose to go to next.

IMG_20150102_204859949_HDR2. I started with my books actually. I love literature and have a MA in literature in three languages and love to read since I was a little kid, yet funnily enough books were the first thing that had to go.

3. Who the fuck has time to count all their belongings?! Seriously! I think this should stop because it is not minimalism if you are still obsessed about your stuff – and yes I think it is obsession if you go so far as to count every fucking item that you have. My stuff fits into a suitcase and then I have a couple of boxes at a friend’s place back home.

IMG_20150102_2109432274. The desire for more… That’s a tough question! I think being thankful for what you have is a good way to deal with it. It’s also good to try and look at what lies behind the desire for more. Why do you want to have more? Ask yourself the question at least 3 times and try to dig deep until you find the real reason. For example: Is it because you want to keep up with someone? Do you want to feel loved by someone? What is the deeper emotion behind your need for more and what is missing in your life? Then find out if there is another way to satisfy this feeling without having to want more.

IMG_20141221_1123547695. Dealing with non-minimalists in my life…There is a saying in my hometown that would translate into “Live and let live” and that is what I go by. I don’t have any issues with non-minimalists and usually don’t talk about minimalism to my friends or colleagues. One reason for that is that in my opinion there is no one more obnoxious than a person that tries to convert you to something they believe in. Also it certainly won’t change anybody’s mind if you have to convince someone strongly to do something. The only way to truly make a change is to show how much happier one can be with less and I think the best way to show that is to write about my awesome adventures that I can have courtesy of minimalism. If people like my lifestyle, my approach to life, they will become interested on their own.

6. Lol, no 😀

Seriously, minimalism is not competitive, judgemental and it’s not like a diet. Whatever is important to you can stay and you shouldn’t be guilty about it. If you like your collection of owls, if it is important to you, then by all means it should stay. There is no need to get rid of the things you love.

That being said, my life right now doesn’t allow for any clutter or any items that I could collect other than digital items (pictures for example – I love to take them for my blog –  fun fact, all the pics on my blog are taken my yours truly). This might change in the future, but I’m actually not into collecting things anymore, the last two years on the road have changed that. Nevertheless I want to have a nice kitchen with all the electrical items that you can have (blender, mixer, toaster etc) again, so if I hoard anything I predict it’ll be in the kitchen area.

I’ll give the tag to anyone who wants to do it, comment below if you want others to read it too.

The minimalist TAG

One thought on “The minimalist TAG

  1. I love this post! Important questions, important answers.
    1. What drew you to minimalism?
    Some books and some blogs that I read a few years ago. And the realization that my happiest years were, oh coincidence, the ones when I owned less.
    2. How did you start the de-cluttering process?
    One day at a time, one cupboard at a time! I started with things that were easy to get rid of, and progressed to the things I was more “attached” to.
    3. Have you ever counted all your things? If so, how many things do you own?
    I have counted some of my things, but I still own too many for the exercise to be worthwhile.
    4. What are your tips for dealing with the desire for more?
    No TV, no magazines, no shopping malls.
    5. How do you deal with non-minimalists in your life?
    If they don’t live with me, “live and let live”. If they do, then I try and share with them how much more happiness with can derive from non-material pleasures.
    6. Do you have any guilty pleasures where minimalism doesn’t apply?
    I love to travel and do so often even if flying (and other means of transportation) are big pollutants.

Leave a Reply

